Elin Haf Gruffydd-Jones new president of ELEN

Conference ELEN Minority languages
8 December 2021
ELEN member organizations from across Europe gathered in Santiago de Compostela, Galiza, over the weekend of 12-13 November for ELEN’s annual General Assembly, hosted by A Mesa pola Normalización Lingüística in the splendid surroundings of the Museo do Pobo Galego. The meeting was held using a hybrid format with many members, speakers and observers participating online, and A Mesa provided interpretation from Galician to English, English to Galician, English to Breton and French.

Elin Haf Gruffydd-Jones had been nominated to stand for President by the membership and was voted in unanimously to warm applause.

Elections were also held for the Steering Committee with all those nominated elected unanimously. The Steering Committee elected are: Ferran Suay (ACPV), Paul Bilbao (Kontseilua), Tangi Louarn (Kevre Breizh), Marcos Maceira (A Mesa), Mirjam Vellinga (Afûk), Dòmhnall MacNèill (Comunn na Gàidhlig), Ciarán Mac Giolla Bhéin (Comhairle na Gaelscolaíochta), Pádraig Ó Tiarnaigh (CnaG), Claudia Soria (CNR), Anneli Sarhimaa (Univ. Mainz), Krisztina Sándor (EMNT), Marga Payola (Plataforma per la Llengua), Conchúr Ó Giollagáin (Soillse, UHI).

Read the full report here